Lord of the Fleas

In an attempt to be adventurous, I made my way to Hell’s Kitchen to check out the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market Gourmet Food Truck Bazaar.  I wouldn’t exactly call it a Bazaar per se, but more like 5 trucks parked along side a flea market.  I know it’s an up and coming food truck gathering so I know it will grow to be bigger and better, but I’d recommend checking it out a little later in the season.  If you are a vintage shopper you should definitely swing by the stalls as there are plenty of people’s leftovers, but I just don’t love smelling like someone else’s clothes.  Maybe it’s just me.  Also, if you’re into collecting golf club heads or antique telephones, get your butt over there!

The trucks in attendance were the Kimchi Taco Truck, Rickshaw Dumpling Truck, Cinnamon Snail (vegan food), Schnitzel & Things and Kelvin Natural Slush Truck, as well as a Luke’s Lobster tent.  Let me give you a word of advice.  Don’t go there hungry.  The people vs. truck ratio was very lop sided and the lines were outrageous.  I had my little heart set on the Kimchi Taco Truck but after waiting in line for half an hour and only moving 3 steps closer, we decided we needed to leave.  Also, I think I was so hungry that at one point I felt weak and could have sworn I started to see the light…so we left, determined to find tacos.  I will go back there though, but on a day I feel like buying cuff links made of legos and getting Athlete’s foot from trying on other peoples’ shoes.  But seriously, it was a pretty adorable set-up and I felt very artsy among all the vintage shopping foodies.  I’d go back another day with fuller belly and armed with a pair of peds.  Always wear protection.

Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market and Food Trucks – West 39th Street between 9th and 10th Avenues, 9am-5pm every 2nd Sunday of the month.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

