Israel – My trip to the Holy Land

Recently I spent 12 days in Israel as part of my Birthright gift. For those of you who don’t know, Birthright is a free first-time trip to Israel for Jewish people ages 18-26.  On this trip, you are taught about the different parts of Israel and what it means to be Jewish.  People like to joke about becoming crazy religious when you get back like it’s some sort of cult, but every person truly takes what they want from the trip.  For me, I was not looking for more religion in my life.  I was looking for more of an understanding of what I was taught when I was younger, in hopes of appreciating it more now.  I was able to see so much of Israel and make such strong friendships in such a short amount of time.  It really was a life-changing experience for me.  I was able to sit in the middle of the Negev desert in total darkness and really think about me.  Not work or money or any of the pressures a 24 year old faces when thinking about her future.  I just laid in the sand looking up at the sky speckled with stars, and I thought “this is one of the greatest moments of my life.”  My mind was clear of all negative thoughts and I was able to just be at peace.  It was wonderful.

Here are just some of the highlights of my trip.  Please keep in mind that having a new camera does not a photographer make.  I tried my best, so here they are.







2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Israel – My trip to the Holy Land

  1. Elaine

    Quite spectacular!!

  2. Debby

    To live vicariously through your “eyes”, which… by the way,
    the camera/you,… you with the camera…”together as one,”
    did…a photographer “make”!
    You guys on the trip, the scenery, amazing~
    Thank You for sharing!

Leave a Reply

