When Steel Talks, Everyone Listens.

I’m not sure I every shared this with you all, but I have a secret love.  Apparently I am a big dreamer because there are just so many things I want to do in this world.  One of them:  Play the Steel Drum.

I’ve never  run into a short Jewish girl with brown curly hair playing the steel drums down  in the subway, but if I did, I would be so impressed.  I’d also give her lots of money.

Maybe it’s the shiny silver metal that lures to towards this musical talent.  Or maybe it’s the joyous sound of the drum that reminds me of of Jamaica and all its beauty.  And jerk meats.

I just think it’s a beautiful instrument that would be fun to play.  Maybe for a little spare change down in the Union Square Subway.

Would you pay to see me?

Here’s a little steel drum magic to listen to:

If this doesn’t put you in a long weekend spirit, then you have no soul.

Happy 4th of July everyone!  Eat lobsters, have bbqs, watch fireworks, but don’t set any off or you’ll lose a finger!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “When Steel Talks, Everyone Listens.

  1. Elaine

    Hey” Little Jewish Girl”,

    I know where the love of steel drums comes from ….it comes right along with your love of jerked meats, trinidadian chicken from your childhood, knowing what a zou-zou is, and saying one, two, tree and trawberries….. it comes from your deep love of your “Island Nanny”! You silly girl! Howie was worried about the trawberries ….. wait ’til he hears you want to play the drums in the subway! He’s gonna go freak’n nutso!! Love ya, Me

  2. ames09

    So I’m finally catching up on your blog, and I enjoy all of your posts, but this one resonates with me, because while I am not Jewish, I was a steel drum playin’ fool in middle school. It was actually a requirement in 6th grade and I did it through 7th grade. Naturally, I played the bass, which consisted of 6 trash can sized drums that surrounded me (I asked my mom for drums for Christmas but no luck…) Just thought I’d share.
    The steel drums are magical.

Leave a Reply

