Got to be good to yourself.

I have come to the realization that in order for me to be a happy person, I must do at least one good thing for myself every day.  I’m not specifically saying one thing to make me healthier, like going to the gym or something, but I mean one thing that I want and that I allow myself to have in order for me to be happy.  For example, last night my sister and I were having pregnant lady cravings for Chinese food.  Although we have been trying to get back on the wagon after our Father’s Day blowout BBQ, we said F-it and ordered some food drowning in Chinese brown sauce and some rice and we were happy.  We also watched a few episodes of Law and Order SVU.  It was a great night and I was happy.

I’ve learned from my roommate that if you want something, do it!  She’s eaten guacamole for dinner I’d say at least 5 times in the last week.  You go with your guacamole!  It’s delicious!

If you continuously deprive yourself of things that you want, there’s no way you can be truly happy.  You’re always thinking about what you’re missing! On my dad’s fridge, for years, has been this paper that reads “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.”  LIES!  Ben and Jerry’s Oatmeal Cookie Chunk Ice Cream definitely tastes better than thin feels. I am going to work on taking care of myself, being healthier, but I’m also going to make sure I am happy.

Tonight I am going to see Ondine, that movie about a fisherman that finds a mermaid starring Colin Farrell.  (Had to watch the trailer two times in order to figure out what they were saying. Gotta love accents!) I looooove going to the movies and I haven’t been in ages because it costs an arm and a leg to go in Manhattan, but tonight I will go and I will suck it up and pay the $2,000 dollars because I love the movies and I love myself and I’m allowed to be happy.

This weekend, I’m going to organize my shoes.  Let’s get CRAZZYYYYY!!!

Also, this morning for breakfast I ate two brownie bites and an apple.

Don’t worry, be happy.  The end.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Got to be good to yourself.

  1. Zoe Schwartz

    Don’t forget… we also watched Losing It with Jillian Michaels and cried our eyes out. Sappy time equals happy time. 🙂

  2. Leah

    my mom had the same quote hanging in our pantry…right at eye level.

  3. Megan

    hahaha I have an unhealthy obsession. 😉

Leave a Reply

