The 24th Anniversary of the Day I Was Born

Monday turned out to be a pretty great birthday.  I’ve had many birthdays in the past where no one wanted to celebrate and it ended up being just my sister and I celebrating our birthday together.  So lame I could cry.  What people don’t understand is when you are twins, hanging just the two of you is like hanging by yourself.  We know each other so well and hang out so much that it’s not very exciting at all.  That’s why it means to much to us to have people around.  Monday was a nice day to have a birthday.  Work was uneventful and went by fast.  No problems with clients so everything went very smoothly.  I was around my computer all day so I was able to check Facebook and see how many random people came out of the woodwork to wish me a happy birthday.  Must remember to wish them all a happy birthday when that time comes.

I don’t know if this happens with all people and their birthdays but when someone in my family celebrates a birthday we eat big.  It started with a single cupcake given to me by a friend at work.

A red velvet cupcake from Magnolia’s!  One of my favorites!  Thanks Jake!

In the evening, we celebrated with drinks and dinner at Abe and Arthur’s in the Meatpacking District.  At first when we walked in, it seemed to be a post-work sausage fest party, but after all the lovely men in suits made their way to a private party room, the bar area emptied out.  I mean it was 7:30pm on a Monday night.  When we first sat down, the dining area was a little empty, but that was okay because it was realllllyy cool.  Very modern, dimly lit, pendant lamps hanging over the tables.  I brought my dirty martini from the bar to the table because I couldn’t finish it because I’m a lightweight now.  Then we ordered a bottle of wine.  Big eyes = Big Bellies.  The definition of my family.  We started with a raw seafood tower consisting of clams, mussels, oysters, crab and shrimp and then an order of their famous tuna tacos.  I was already full after the popover s they serve as their breadbasket.  The tuna taco shells were so small I swear they were meant for The Borrowers.  Have you never seen that movie?  Super adorable.  And yes, I googled “show with mini people that live in the walls” to find the name of the movie I was thinking of.  In case you don’t know it, (how are we friends?), here’s a clip:

Anyway, so those tacos that were super small, were also super great.  Now at this point I was starting to feel pretty full, but don’t worry, I ordered The Cod and Rock Shrimp entree and it was delish as was expected. The steaks were also mighty fine, but I could only taste them since I’ve been trying to cut out a lot of red meat that I eat.  Don’t want to be a cow! Badum chhhh.  But don’t think we stopped there.  As I’ve probably said before, I have a second stomach for dessert, but I think there was a slit spillover from the other stomach because I was barely able to dominate the dessert course.  We ordered for the four of us, and I am not making this up, 1 French Toast Bread Pudding, 1 Cookies and Cream Souffle, 1 Cheesecake with Strawberries and then because we didn’t have enough food, they gave us complimentary donuts in which you inject either strawberry or caramel sauce and then dunk them into a chocolate sauce.  I left the meal unable to breathe and needless to say, in a lot of pain.  The next day I could barely even eat.  I had oatmeal and corn.  Not at the same time, but yes, still very strange and very…me.

I failed to mention that at dinner, aside from the unexpected donuts, we had 2 unexpected celebrity spottings, both at tables near us.  One of Ryan “I broke up with Reese Witherspoon and I am an asshole” Philippe and Brian Baumgartner, aka Kevin from The Office.  If you couldn’t already tell, I was definitely more excited to see Brian.  I LOVE HIM.

One of two other highlights on my birthday was this card that I received from my cousin who was also at dinner with us.  If this card was not written for me, I don’t know who it was written for.

The other surprise was after dinner.  My friend Leah told me to check my apartment for a package, but I didn’t think it would be this!  Brand spankin’ new Minnetonka Moccasins that are soooo awesome.  I love that she was clever enough to be a follower of my blog, and to use one of my posts as an idea for a birthday gift.  Although it was not my intention to whine about giving mine away in order for someone to feel bad and get me new ones, but I am so thrilled that she did.  I had never seen this particular design but I absolutely love them. Thank you so much Leah! I heart you very much. Come visit soon so I can share my bed with you.

It really was a wonderful day and I just want to say thank you to every who made it that way.  So thanks. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

