I went to Texas and all I got were these chiggers.

I have chiggers. I’ve been way overdoing it with chigger jokes lately, but let me explain to you how it all started.  On Friday, I flew into Austin, Texas for my friend Susan’s wedding.  We stayed in Brenham where the wedding was. At her rehearsal dinner, we were taking pictures in trees, posing together, yada yada yada and I sit back down at the table to chow down on some authentic Texas BBQ from a smoker (!) and I am all of a sudden SOOOO itchy.  Right in my elbow crease under my jean jacket.  Being a New Yorker, unaware of wildernessy things, I assumed I had a mosquito in my jacket.  He’d fly away right? WRONG. So I continued to eat the barbequed brisket and baked beans, unaware that I was being attacked by CHIGGERS.

Chiggers are little mites that bite you and burrow into your skin and make you very unhappy. I will spare you the details, but I’ve been smothering them with nail polish on a daily basis. DIE BITCHES. I like to talk about them like they are my new friends.  Friends I want to kill. (Don’t we all have those?)  I mean, they’re in my arm so why not laugh about it.  At least I took home some souvenirs!

Let’s talk about the wedding and how I had THE BEST TIME.

First off, Texas is beautiful.  I used to make fun of Texas because, well, the Bush’s are from there, but aside from that, it is a great state!  It is truly beautiful.  The wildflowers that are in season now are just gorgeous, and I guess coming from Manhattan made me so grateful to see green.  And boy was there a lot of green!

It’s pretty hard to take a picture from a moving car, but just appreciate all the green in this photo. I just wanted to roll around naked in it, but apparently you can get chiggers from that tool.  I saw flowers, cattle, goats, stray dogs, homeless people.  Nature at its best.  We drove an hour and a half to Brenham where we were staying at The Wrigley House Bed and Breakfast.  It was so quaint and charming and the woman who ran is was just the sweetest.  She made us the most delicious breakfasts in the morning with bacon and warm baked goods.  UGH SO GOOD.

This is the room Zoe and I stayed in:

I slept like a drugged baby in this bed.  My sister and I woke up and we were like “Wow, were you drooling because I was.”  That’s how you know you had a great sleep.

Later that evening we went to the rehearsal dinner in Round Top.  The chigger incident.  It was super casual and fun.  Western themed as I mentioned in other posts.  Lots of cowboy hats and boots.  Everyone looked so great!

This is the chigger tree as it will be forever remembered, yet I still love this photo.

My favorite part of the night was when Susan sang Chuck (her husband!) a song she wrote for him.  I cried the whole time.  The we ate dessert and I was happy as a clam.  Blue Bell Ice Cream from the Blue Bell Creamery located in Brenham!  You bet your ass I went to see it and eat some ice cream.

The wedding was on Saturday at the Antique Rose Emporium.  It was a beautiful day, a little windy, but I was drinking Peach bellini’s so I didn’t have a care in the world.  The ceremony was gorgeous.  What I saw through my tears was wonderful.  I forgot to bring tissues.  I am an asshole.  Here are some pictures!

Reunited with Isabel! Check out the cows in the background!

We visited our friends Taylor and Marta in Austin!

It really was such a wonderful trip.  I loved seeing my sorority sisters and friends and I was so happy to be a part of Susan and Chuck’s big day.  Makes me excited to go more weddings!   Now I’m itching to travel to more states and visit friends.  It’s such a blast to explore a place you don’t know as long as you have a rental car with GPS.  We all know I’m directionally challenged. Any suggestions where to go?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

