Braid Madness!

They are everywhere.  All over the place.  Everyplace you look.  On people! I’m not talking about germs. (Chill out guys, the Swine Flu epidemic is over.)  I’m talking about braids!  The newest trend to hit runways and the streets!  I am totally digging them.  I’ve worn one for the past 2 days!  I love ruts.  Here’s to starting one.  Visuals. Bam.

The messy side braid.

What I have found to be the easiest and least fussy of all the braids.  Side part your hair. Pull your hair around to the front on the side your hair is not parted on.  Braid it loosely.  It’s as simple as that.  Even if you suck at braiding, it’ okay!  It’s almost supposed to look like that!  It’s relaxed, chic and most important of all, comfortable.  Even though I have curly hair, it still looks good. (I think.)  For those of you who have very curly hair, I’d suggest pulling a straightening iron through it to relax it and then going to town.  Also, a nice touch is to make sure the end of your braid is straight and then play with it with your fingers until it is a little curled.  It looks mighty cute!  Although my neck is the opposite of giraffe-like seen above, yet I still think the style works. Give it a whirl! I know you’ll love it!

Here are my two best girl friends wearing the style that I attempted this morning.  Unlike them, or their styelists, let’s be real, I have NO CLUE how to french braid.  Getting the braid to start at the root never works out for me but i gave it a shot.  And I missed. Annie do not get your gun. I’m wearing this look today, but my braid starts a little further from the part. I tried.  Give me a little credit here.  I’ve found that braiding at the crown is also pretty great at taming frizz.  So is a flat iron.  The combination of the two is pretty stellar.  If you are a person who wears their hair the same style every day, down, like me, give this look a try.  If it doesn’t look good, then don’t wear it, but at least you can’t say you never tried.

Speaking of never try.

I’m just not a huge fan of this look where the braid wraps tightly around your head. It kind of reminds me too much of her.

Is that weird?  I just think the braided look should be kept minimal.  Loose and flowy.  Not too tight like it could cut off blood circulation to the brain.  We need our brains.  They are good to us.  In this case, pain is not beauty.  Maybe when plucking your eyebrows, getting your hair blown out or getting your lady parts waxed, but not braids.  Braids are gentle.  Like butterfly kisses.

Love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

